HomeРазвлеченияRelated VideosMore From: Brandon Lund

👉2018 Model Ansen 180 AMP TIG & Stick Welder review

251 ratings | 12958 views
2018 model Ansen 180 AMP TIG & Stick welder review. High Frequency start, Gas solenoid. Cheapest TIG / Stick Welder on Amazon and it's awesome! In the first episode we went over all of the included accessories and burned some rods. In this episode we are going to go over all the TIG features and functions and see if we can put down a few TIG beads! This welder packs a lot of features for a welder in this price range. I paid for this with my own money! Link to this WELDER: http://amzn.to/2tcNqVY Link to Part 1 - Unboxing and Stick Welding https://youtu.be/TylIq0qJauU ⇨ SUBSCRIBE to Brandon Lund DIY Builds: https://www.youtube.com/brandonlund THE TOOLS & GEAR I USE 🔴 https://www.amazon.com/shop/brandonlund Any commission earned from the above Amazon affiliate links all goes towards helping to support my channel. MUSIC By: Joakim Karud http://youtube.com/joakimkarud FOLLOW ME (for behind the scenes stuff)! ⇨ Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/lunddiybuilds ⇨ Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/LundDIYBuilds ⇨ Twitter: https://twitter.com/LundDIYBuilds For Business Inquiries: [email protected] Disclaimer: These videos are intended for entertainment purposes only and as such, you should not attempt to do any of the things you see me doing. Always read and follow the manufacturer’s safety guidelines before handling tools. Seek professional advice and training before using any welding equipment. Never operate any tool without wearing the proper personal protective equipment. Final warning, Do not attempt to do any of the things you see me doing!
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (70)
Jake Coutcher (7 months ago)
I have that same welder it was on sale for $169.90 eBay I weld for a living we have a $2900 Forney welder at work and to be completely honest I like mine better obviously the Forney has more features like AC DC pulse frequency control but for the garage you cannot go wrong with this welder👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻
Brandon Lund (7 months ago)
Completely agree!
joe lepore (1 month ago)
hello.....where did you buy the mask?
Brandon Lund (1 month ago)
Most everything I use for tools in my videos is in the video description. If it's not there let me know and I'll hook you up.
jesse serfling (3 months ago)
Can you use a pedel with it?
Brandon Lund (3 months ago)
You cant with this one Jesse
Profile Protected (5 months ago)
Amico just came out with a new 6010 stick welder, it's on their website. Sweet!
Profile Protected (5 months ago)
+Brandon Lund if you get get a hold of some 6012 electrodes on ebay or something. I would like to see how they weld thin sheetmetal. Can't find much info on them, but they were THE goto rod for sheetmetal, before MIG.
Brandon Lund (5 months ago)
I just reached out to Amico so hopefully we can start doing some testing on their products in some upcoming episodes
nelson Santos (5 months ago)
As a follow-up,Did you find anything wrong after using it for what, a year?
nelson Santos (5 months ago)
Is the gas Tig hose made of rubber or plastic?
Brandon Lund (5 months ago)
Rubber
Robert Law (5 months ago)
What is the thinnest steel you can tig weld with this? What is the lowest amps?
Brandon Lund (5 months ago)
10 Amps. Not quite low enough to weld razor blades, but close.
Marcos Fredrickson (6 months ago)
can it pulse?
Brandon Lund (6 months ago)
Marcos Fredrickson it doesn’t pulse, however, this is my go to rig when I need to tig. Very smooth arc plus it has the automatic gas solenoid which is awesome.
Edward Falk (7 months ago)
Already seems to be discontinued as of October 2, although I was able to find 160 and 200 amp versions
Brandon Lund (7 months ago)
The 180 seems to sell out quickly.
Cliff Knoebel (7 months ago)
You like the ansen or blue more?
Brandon Lund (5 months ago)
+nelson Santos No issues other than this https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UWAyqZWMyD0
nelson Santos (5 months ago)
How's the ansen doing right now?
Brandon Lund (7 months ago)
Protected Profile Next weeks video is a 6010 stick welding project and I was going to use the blue demon because I’ve had that down to around 36 amps on 6010. I will use the Ansen instead for that video and see how it does. I have not tried 6010 with the Ansen. I guess we are going to find out.
Profile Protected (7 months ago)
does the Ansen even run 6010? Sometimes people say the cheap welders will run it, but they won't show the weld bead they produce, but you probably need a piece of 3/8" steel to run a proper 6010 bead. I was going to buy the blue demon, but wanted to see a 6010 bead to judge for myself how well it did.
Brandon Lund (7 months ago)
I like the hot start and smooth arc when stick welding with the blue demon and I use the Ansen pretty much for all tig welding just because it's high frequency start.
OFFROAD GMC (8 months ago)
how is it on 110 vs 220?
Bevis Butthead (6 months ago)
+Jake Coutcher spoiler alert. the lincoln and millers are made either in mexico or overseas. at least their small machines. might as well just buy the off brand.
Jake Coutcher (7 months ago)
OFFROAD GMC it works great comes with an adapter from 110 to 210 I love it for the money you can’t beat it I would never buy a Miller or Lincoln $1200 take welder for my garage or a hobbyist now if you’re going to use it every day for eight hours a day I would buy a namebrand one but if it’s just something you’re going to tinker around with on the weekends this is the way to go I’ve been welding for 10 years and this is a good welder
Brandon Lund (7 months ago)
Honestly, I can't tell a difference, other than it doesnt max out when it's on 110
Jeffrey Snethen (8 months ago)
I bought the 160 model last year for under $200 with shipping, just wanted it for a backup welder had lmao at how good it actually works including high freak! definitely worth the price!
Jeffrey Snethen (8 months ago)
yep, that damm thing is awesome for the money, tig arc is smooth as hell!
Brandon Lund (8 months ago)
I am completely impressed with this welder!
Ariel Cunanan (9 months ago)
Thanks Brandon, any videos about stainless plate or tube ...what is your set up... like your torch, tungsten, amps setting and what is filler rod suited for DC Ansen 180 Amp high frequency tig welder.
Brandon Lund (8 months ago)
I will cover this in more detail in an upcoming video. Be sure to check out part 1 about this welder. https://youtu.be/TylIq0qJauU . Also hit the bell notifications icon so you don't miss future episodes. Thanks for watching.
Richard Koeppel (9 months ago)
Thanks Brandon, I have bought the same welder, any and more videos about it would be great. As I am new to welding and learning on the way, thanks much
Brandon Lund (9 months ago)
Thank you! It's a great welder! I introduced this as a 2 part series if you haven't seen the other video. I'm also going to be tig welding some cast iron with this welder in a few weeks. Stay tuned for that episode :) Thanks for watching!
twyla bowman (9 months ago)
Price has already gone up to $250
Brandon Lund (9 months ago)
twyla bowman right after I did this video they jacked the price to over $1200. They have since lowered the price to around 250.00 which it has pretty much remained. For a little more money you can get the blue demon which has a warranty from a reputable company.
edward miguel oviedo Roa (10 months ago)
compre una ansen 180 tig dc y no me hace el arco cuando activo en gatillo de la antorcha cuando la activo se ve dentro de la maquina que hace en forma de un falso contacto como puedo resolver este problema
zen pro (10 months ago)
New to welding, can you tig aluminum with this
Curtis Sawdy (4 months ago)
Why won’t it do aluminum ?
zen pro (10 months ago)
Brandon Lund OK thanks Brandon
Brandon Lund (10 months ago)
zen pro this wont do aluminum.
outdoorzone (10 months ago)
What’s your opinion on this machine since you bought it now? Same ? Better? Worse?
outdoorzone (10 months ago)
Roscoe Coltrane but I have to say I like your YouTube name!! Thx
Roscoe Coltrane (10 months ago)
okay
outdoorzone (10 months ago)
Roscoe Coltrane yah maybe but not really much out there to back that up!
Roscoe Coltrane (10 months ago)
I think that's how amazon works. As items sell they raise the price until sales plateau or drop off and then either leave it or drop the price until sales pick back up. It's like an automatic thing.
outdoorzone (10 months ago)
Brandon Lund thank man! I see the price is now $251
Josafat07 (10 months ago)
im new to tig and want to get into tig. I want to get this welder but whats the difference between the three models on amazon?
Brandon Lund (6 months ago)
The 3 that I have listed are this one (180 amp) the 160 amp model which has the same features as this and the Blue Demon 160 Amp Stick and Tig welder (which I have also done an unboxing video so you can compare). I like the fact that the Ansen has a high frequency start as compared to the Blue Demon which is lift start, but I've had some issues with Ansen (if you follow my channel you will know what I'm referring to).
Richard Gabriel (1 year ago)
They have raised the price of the welder from $209 to $1299.99! What is going on here? Brandon, something's not right!
outdoorzone (10 months ago)
Richard Gabriel $209 to $1299 that is more than price gouging!! That’s highway robbery!!! WTF sounds like a pricing error!
Joseph Giambrone (11 months ago)
Just looked they are 249 now. Might just buy it
CavemanJoe (1 year ago)
I wish I had known about this before I bought my Amico stick welder. Only another $60 and I would've been able to do Tig once I got argon. Looks nice, I might just grab one anyway.
CavemanJoe (1 year ago)
mycat8urskidoo Oh, I know. It's just to get set up for lift-start tig it would've been nice to only need to buy an Argon tank and flowmeter. I plan on getting it, I just don't have any projects I need tig for just yet.
mycat8urskidoo (1 year ago)
not sure what exactly you bought, but if it's a DC stick welder , you can still tig weld with it
mycat8urskidoo (1 year ago)
not sure what exactly you bought, but if it's a DC stick welder , you can still tig weld with it
Tsunami101st (1 year ago)
But one question...do you like the new welder?
Jaques Daniels (1 year ago)
That set has some really good features TIG wise , a real bargain. I advise using 2.4mm tungstens, I prefer 2% lanth-but thats because I do AL YOU MINNI YUM, for DC, you can use whatever, I went 2.4 on advice from Jody and 6061.com, and it works for me. DC TIG is great for stainless, and you can use stainless filler for mild steel-nice looking welds- technically not as strong but for home shop use shouldn't be a problem, 309L filler will weld stainless to mild steel, and another great filler, silicon bronze for TIG brazing-you can do some really neat work with that. You could try welding razor blades together as you obviously aint using em ha ha :)
Brandon Lund (1 year ago)
Jaques Daniels hey buddy, I can always count on you for a good chuckle! I will give the different tungsten a try. I have a couple projects in mind and I want to try out some silicon bronze. I will be able to mig the backside for strength and tig the front with bronze for the decorative cool effect and you can never go go wrong with trusting the welding guru Jody and 6061 has some pretty impressive stuff too! I'm debating on using the razors for shaving or saving them for tig practice. Take care friend!
OGAREW (1 year ago)
My support and like !!! Success and development !!!
arturo munoz (1 year ago)
Is this the same as the Amico tig 185 ?
gpgab971 (1 year ago)
Ive owned a similar sized RealGear branded (Praxair / GTS Welco) distributed tig 200 for a few weeks now. Besides the downslope timer its very similar. I added a foot pedal to the unit for the start (not variable amps) and i am blown away by how effortless these little inverters run. Wired for 240v it shows great start up and output consistency with any steel i put i front of it. Id say the stick is fair at best but im biased with lots of time behind gas driven miller's too. Absolutely nothing wrong for the home owner/ hobbyist to invest in. The prices on these little things are great for a few reasons, buying a decent sheild, higher quality electrodes, gas lenses ect. Anyone wanting to try their hand at some point but not willing to or capable of making a big purchase should have a go.
arturo munoz (1 year ago)
Brandon Lund okay thank you
Brandon Lund (1 year ago)
arturo munoz It looks simular but it doesnt appear that it has the post flow control and the downslope. I have reached out to them so check back often.
arturo munoz (1 year ago)
Theyre probably gonna increase the price on it
Brandon Lund (1 year ago)
arturo munoz I have found it listed on eBay for 500
Welding Junkie (1 year ago)
I really wish amazon had this in stock I need a back up for another person. I use my HTP Invertig 221 as my main tig it’s amazing.
Brandon Lund (1 year ago)
Welding Junkie the 160 is still available. On a side note, I have sourced an affordable name brand tig / stick welder. That review will be out very soon.

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.